Tags

, , , , , , ,

There is an abundance of both there. There is a shoe store every 25 feet or so and probably the coolest tattoos I’ve ever seen!

It was raining like cats and dogs this morning, so we thought it would be a good day for museums. The day started at the Te Papa museum on Queen’s Wharf. We saw the Gallipoli walking exhibition which shows New Zealand’s involvement in WWI. Extremely sad to hear of how many people lost their life here. You don’t realize how many until their stories are told right in front of you. A few more exhibitions later, we found ourselves on the 6th floor – Contemporary Art. Halfway through the tour I heard a very loud “beep! beep! beep!” and thought to myself “some poor loser set off the alarm”. I turned the corner and sure enough, it’s my dear old husband. He got too close to a super expensive painting and sounded the museum alarm. Oy…never a dull moment. Honestly, I think he just wanted to make it into my blog (he won).

The day cleared up, so we took the cable car up to the beautiful botanical gardensIMG_0793

IMG_0786

and a long trek back into town.

The night ended at The Hideaway (think Mad Men in the 1960’s with red leather booths, dim lighting, and hard to find front door). A few Syrahs later, it was definitely time for bed. Off to Queenstown!

